Master Bedroom in calm grays

For our new master bedroom my inspiration came from this gorgeous geometric fabric from Designer Fabrics.

I absolutely love the pattern and the subtle gray and white colour scheme. It worked great with our existing coverlet and duvet cover so I ordered 2 yards of it and made a custom upholstered headboard which is the definitely the focal point in this room. The headboard was easy to make and a very inexpensive way to use this fabric.

The large window required a lot of fabric for draperies so I used a solid gray cotton double width fabric which looks great and was very affordable! The drapery system is called Ripplefold; it’s a very simple and modern heading which is typically used in commercial applications but it works beautifully on large windows and you tend to use less yardage than with pleated draperies. I love the way drapery finishes off a room but I don’t like fussy or overdone window treatments so the ripplefold style was the perfect solution.

I made the drapes myself and they’re actually very simple to sew. See directions here: http://www.kirsch.com/products/basic-hardware/brochures/RipplefoldBrochure.pdf . I used blackout lining behind the fabric for privacy, light control and to add insulation; this also gives the lightweight fabric some fullness and allows them to hang nicely. The drapes are hanging on a commercial drapery hardware system called KS Track. In my application I have opted not to use the ceiling or wall mount brackets that can be purchased, instead I drilled directly through the track and installed it flush with the ceiling for a cleaner look.

The walls are painted in Benjamin Moore’s Metropolitan (AF-690) from their Affinity Collection. I love this colour because works perfectly with my fabric scheme and it has a slight green undertone in it which warms it up. Grays can be very tricky to select as most silvery grays tend to go very blue when you see them up in a room. Grays with green undertones are much easier to decorate with, they marry well with almost any other colour and they have a slightly warmer feel which is great for a bedroom.

Overall I’m quite happy with the master bedroom for now. It still needs new flooring (or we may refinish the existing wood floors), some accessories and an area rug but that will come with time!

Sources:

Wall Paint – Benjamin Moore Affinity Collection – Metropolitan AF-690 http://www.benjaminmoore.ca
Drapery & Headboard Fabric – Designer Fabrics http://www.designerfabrics.ca
Drapery Hardware – KS System http://www.jackson.ca
Pendant Light – Rona

7 comments
  1. Lyne said:

    Hi, The drapes look great! Can you tell me if they are 60%, 80%, or 100% fullness? Thanks, Lyne

  2. Laureen Wheeler said:

    I am looking for this look for my master bedroom. What type of track is this? I can’t seem to find one like it in my area. I live in Miami, Florida. LW

  3. Laureen Wheeler said:

    OK. I just found the Kirsch link for the drapery hardware. Thanks for posting this within your story. LW

  4. mrsben said:

    Beautiful job …. love the headboard and particularly your drapes. Re the latter, could you possibly explain a little more about the track used. ie: For the carrier did you use the standard type or front loading ones? Also would appreciate the name and style number. Am hoping for a center opening with use of a baton. THANK YOU and with much appreciation for sharing the info. -Brenda-

    • Thanks Brenda. I used the standard KS track (sorry I don’t remember the style number) with standard front loading carriers, no brackets (I drilled through the track to have a flush ceiling mount). I installed one extra carrier between the first and second carriers to allow a baton to be clipped onto the spare one. – Lindsay

      • mrsben said:

        Hi Lindsay: Thank you so very much for your (prompt) reply and for your assistance. You’ve been a great help. Wishing you a beautiful day! Sincerely ….. -Brenda-

Leave a Reply

